Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Today, I received a wonderful call from Catherine Austin Thomas, my second cousin on my mother’s side. Catherine lived in Avalos from 1931-1948. Her mother, Nellie Wilson Austin, was my grandfather Renie’s eldest sister. My grandfather’s family included his parents William and Catherine Decker Wilson, their children, Nellie Wilson Austin, twins Renie Wilson and Marcelle Wilson Roche, Cora Wilson Morris and William Wilson. Catherine shared some great stories which I tried to write down as fast as I could but I will definitely need a follow-up conversation (hopefully when we meet in Colorado). She said that growing up in Avalos was like paradise on Earth. Here are some photos of the Wilson family courtesy of my Aunt Catina and my mother Florence.

William and Catherine Decker Wilson

William and Catherine Decker Wilson

The Wilson Family

The Wilson Family

On the porch of my great-grandmother Catherine Decker Wilson's home in Monterrey. Left to right: Renie Wilson with his daughters Florence and Catherine.  Next to them is Cora Wilson Morris and her daughter.

On the porch of my great-grandmother Catherine Decker Wilson's home in Monterrey. Left to right: Renie Wilson with his daughters Florence and Catherine. Next to them is Cora Wilson Morris and her daughter.