Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

These wonderful photos are courtesy of my cousin Catherine Austin Thomas, who lived in the Colony from 1931-1948. Of this first photograph she says, “My back is toward the camera – Grace Austin is next to me. Sybil Bonnell is standing. She was L.B. and his wife’s niece whom they always cared for. I think Mr. Morris is on the bench.”

I must say, I love this photograph. The kids, dressed in playclothes, are so intent on their game and they are surrounded by a panorama of the Colony homes. Click on the photo for a larger view.

Game in Progress

Game in Progress

Catherine continues, “I love this picture – 1932. Richard Harris (only Avalos casualty during WWII), Chick Harris – different Harris family, John Leasure, Jack Harris, unknown, Catherine Austin, Bobby Harris.”

Kids in the Colony

Kids in the Colony