A Walk Around the Colony

My thanks to my cousin, Catherine Austin Thomas, for sending me this video that Herman Lowenberg filmed during the July 1986 Avalos Reunion. The clip below was filmed right after mass at Iglesia San Jose. I’m hoping those who attended the reunion can help identify homes and people so I can display the names within the video. Just watching the video, I see the Colony was beautiful even in 1986. Please let me know if you have any problems viewing it. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

2 thoughts on “A Walk Around the Colony

  1. Liz, Thank your cousin for making this video available. It’s charming and interesting to watch and hear. I’ll make sure that Yola and Helen know that it’s on the website. Al Nugent

  2. Lolita and I just watched the video of the 1986 reunion. What a blast! We saw Nena Navarro and Alan Bradford and Lolita. We laughed and cried when we saw the school, the slide, the hotel, the pool–of such happy summer days…but then when were there any days that we didn’t enjoy!
    Do add us to your list of grateful friends with so many happy memories. My two best friends, Toni Bremer and Estelita Maxwell, are missing! Does any one know what ever happened to Estelita? I saw Juanito Bremer not too long ago in Guerrero Negro, Baja California and we shared many memories. I lived there from 1936 to 1949 and returned for a visit in 1954 then again, around 1998, Lolita and I went for a visit andf had to ask permission at the General Office to walk in (they said no to a car). When I said the last time I was there was in 1954, the man looked at me and exclaimed, “That’s before I was born!” The lady living in the Rasor’s house let us in and I remembered Tommy and Martha. But it was sad to see things so lonely. Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

